Oregon State University

Advisory Board

Captain Barry FisherMembers of the Advisory Board provide advice to the Coastal Oregon Marine Experiment Station about current and future research programs, priorities, and resource management. These individuals represent the natural resources and marine-related agriculture industries of the Oregon Coast and related waterways, and their knowledge of fisheries, the seafood industry, the coastal community, and environmental concerns into discussions with the scientists, and foster strong collaboration between OSU and the community.

The Board was originally chaired by Captain Barry Fisher, who was instrumental in the creation of the Marine Experiment Station.  Joe Easley succeeded him as chair, until late 2011, when Terry Thompson was elected Chair.

The Board currently includes the following members:

Terry Thompson, Chair, Commercial Fishing & Legislation
Commissioner, Lincoln County Board of Commissioners, Newport, Oregon

Andrew Bornstein, Commercial Fishery Production
Bornstein Seafoods Inc.
, Astoria, Oregon

Mike Dickerson, Community & Local Business
Enterprise Cascadia/Craft 3, Ilwaco, Washington

Heather Mann, Seafood Industry
Midwater Trawlers Cooperative, Newport, Oregon

Michael Graybill, Natural Resources
South Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve, Charleston, Oregon

Dave Nisbet, Aquaculture
Goose Point Oysters, Willapa Bay, Washington

Alan (Al) Pazar, Fisheries
Dungeness Crab Commission
Krab Kettle Restaurant, Florence, Oregon

Brad Pettinger, Commercial Fishing & Legislation
Director, Oregon Trawl Commission, Astoria, Oregon

Fred Postlewait, Community & Financial Services
Oregon Coast Bank, Newport, Oregon

Non-Voting Liaison;
David Allen, City of Newport


Pictures of Board Members

Contact Info

Copyright ©  2018 Oregon State University


2030 SE Marine Science Drive
Newport, OR  97365
Tel:  541 867-0230
(at the Hatfield 
Marine Science Center)


2001 Marine Drive, Room 253
Astoria, OR  97103
503 325-4531
(at the Seafood Research 
& Education Center)